DIY Microwave Popcorn

DSC_1020

Wellllllll…this is basically the easiest way EVER to make delicious popcorn. You know, just FYI.

The kitchen we are in right now (renting!) is teeny tiny and so I had to be pretty choosy about what would be awarded cupboard space and what would be returned to storage. And, sadly, my popcorn maker did not make the cut and was promptly returned to storage.

It didn’t take long for me to find out that store bought popcorn is not very good, so when I discovered this method I was super excited. It’s easy, tasty, cheap and fairly adaptable.

Basically you just mix your oil and popcorn (and any flavorings you’re feeling)…

DSC_1005

And dump it into a paper bag (P.S. The above picture is a bit deceiving, you know, to be more visually appealing. I usually just mix everything up right in my two-thirds measuring cup…).

DSC_1015

Fold down the top 2-3 times and microwave…

DSC_1016

Boom. Roasted. Well, microwaved. Popcorn.

DSC_1023

So. Easy. And now that I’m posting this I’m wondering just how many different flavors I should probably try. Brown sugar? Ranch dressing? Paprika? Cayenne? Hmmm…Too many possibilities! Here are the basic amounts:

DIY Microwave Popcorn

1/3 cup popcorn kernels

1/2 teaspoon olive oil

AND generous pinch of salt

OR 1-2 teaspoons sugar and pinch of salt

OR 1/2 teaspoon stevia and pinch of salt

Mix kernels with oil and add salt and/or sweetener. Again, you could probably mix just about any flavor in that you feel like. Mix it all and add to a standard size paper bag. Fold the top of the bag down 2-3 times and put in microwave. Set the microwave on high for 3 minutes but don’t go anywhere! Stay by the microwave and remove your bag as soon as the popping has slowed down to 1 pop every 2-3 seconds. For me and my microwave that has always taken just about 1 minute and 20 seconds. Let it cool down for a few seconds before you open the bag and enjoy.

Note:

-You can use butter as your oil, if you want, but the butter flavor doesn’t really come through, so if you want butter flavored popcorn, I’d suggest adding the butter after popping.

DSC_1018

One thought on “DIY Microwave Popcorn

  1. Whitney Lifferth says:

    hmmm…you’ve tempted me to try this. We use our air popper constantly, so I never really felt the need to do microwave popcorn, but now I want to give it a whirl!

    Like

Leave a Reply

